• panorama04
  • dd
  • panorama01
  • Villa Fogazzaro
  • San Mamete
  • San Mamete
  • oria
  • albogasio
  • panorama05

Church of St.Bernardine

 Chiesa di S. Bartolomeo

High Altar


Presbytery


Chapels


Major Frescoes


Charnel-house


St. Charles Esquilino


Saints:


St. Bartolomeo


Giovanni Battista


St. Lorenz

St. Bartholomew’s church, founded in 1362, is situated halfway between the hamlets of Loggio and Drano , on high ground overhanging the Soldo valley, so as to be equidistant from the to hamlets. Accessible from the route to Puria by means of a double mini-flight of steps, the church underwent several reconstructions, the last one in 1736 when the new sacristy was built and the belfry hightened, on the summit of which a sphere of fine gold from Turin was placed.
It is believed that the dedication to St. Bartholomew is due to a link with the activity of leather tanning of which the Saint is patron. According to tradition he was flayed alive and is often depicted as wearing his skin as if it were a cloak (see a famous statue in the Milan Cathedral).
Above the main doorway is a large fresco depicting ”the Triumph of the Eucharist ”, a theme which was very current in those days (17th century) because the Protestant Reformation had done away with this Sacrament. The painter, Gian Battista Pozzi, took as model the well known tapestry by Rubens, famous flamish painter of the XVII century, on the same subject he had seen inTurin at he court of the Savoys.
Above the first altar, on the left, there is another Holy Shroud in honour of which a mass was celebrated on 4th May
The second chapel on the right, called ”of the Dead” because it was founded by an ancient Confraternity having the same name, reminds us of the Charnel house situated on the left side of the access to the church square, which is richly decorated but in a very bad condition. It also calls to mind the funeral tapestries consisting of twelve rectangular lenghts of black, each depicting a skeleton wrapped in the robes of their various functions of worldly social status. These hangings are no longer exposed, but on the feast of St.Batholomew (august) we can admire precious hangings in red damask richly embroidered in pure gold thread, a gift from the Mossini family.
On high ground south of Loggio beyond the dell called ”Campo”, overlooking the lake is the graveyard, next to which is the chapel dedicated to St. Charles  Borromeo and built on the occasion of his canonisation at the beginning of the 17th century.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.

EU Cookie Directive Module Information